Butler County Progressive PAC


Mayor Nan Whaley Addresses Progressives

written by Donald Daiker

            Dayton Mayor and national leader for gun safety Nan Whaley will be the Guest of Honor and Featured Speaker at the annual Elections Meeting of the Butler County Progressive Political Action Committee, PAC President Steve Jamison has announced.

            The meeting starts at 7 p.m. on Tuesday, February 11 at the LCNB bank building, 30 West Park Place, uptown Oxford.  The meeting is free and open to the public.

            Whaley became a national voice for gun control following a mass shooting in Dayton on August 4, 2019.  Ten people were killed, including the shooter, and 27 were injured. 

            Whaley joined over 200 mayors in urging Congress to act on gun control legislation.  She has appeared on national news programs and written op-eds calling for action on gun safety.

            Whaley, 44, grew up in Indiana but has lived in Ohio since earning a B.A. from the University of Dayton and an M.P.A. from Wright State University.   In college, she helped reorganize the College Democrats and later served as Chair of the Ohio College Democrats.

            Whaley was elected to the Dayton City Commission in 2005, the youngest woman ever chosen for a seat on the commission.  She was elected mayor of Dayton in 2013, winning 56 percent of the vote.   She was re-elected in 2017 without opposition.

            Whaley will be introduced by Michele Mueller, an Ohio State and National Trainer, as well as National Chapter Liaison,  for Moms Demand Action, a grassroots movement of Americans fighting for public safety measures that can protect people from gun violence.  

            Jamison said that the Executive Board of the Progressive PAC has endorsed the following candidates: President: Steve Jamison; Vice President: Patty Klingenberg; Secretary: Bill Gracie; Treasurer: Mike Ball; and Past President: Don Daiker.   For the new Executive Board, the endorsed candidates are Margarette Beckwith, Marilyn Elzey, Clare DiCuccio, Carole Katz, Caroline Roethlisberger, and Shawn Vanness

Scroll to Top